doodle of the day; practicing faces & form

wpid-img_20140614_132512.jpg

 

Playing with faces and form; Wizard comics model

I really feel like shit this morning. Normally I would sleep uninterrupted till around 1 Pm then maybe grab a bite to eat and go back to bed. This morning I woke up at 8:30 Am with a wicked sore throat and feel like I’ve been hit by a truck. Couldn’t sleep soo I got doodle of the day out early.

Above; sketches of the human face, expressions and form. Most of it I am happy with. I tried to use watercolor after but not thinking… It didn’t mix well with the water based brush pens I used last night. Everything just bleeds into a pool of fucked up muck. I did my best. I think for an experiment it turned out OK. I really love comic book art, I have no interest in trying to draw things in a photo realistic way. If I wanted that I would just take a picture. Plus I don’t have patience for it. The purpose of this practice is so I can include simple and convincing human forms into my landscapes to improve sense of scale, presence and warmth.

Enjoy. Oh yeah, this has been touched up in my Android photo editor, added a filter bumped the contrast and brightness.

Leave a Reply

