creature comforts & simple things

wpid-img_20141008_224645.jpg

I moved on Sept. 1st and I’m trying to shake an old habit of living outta a box or two and never really settling in. I really like my place, in fact I love it! I love the location, I love the Managers. Its quiet and clean, I am happy to call it home.

With that said I’ve decided to make the most use of my tiny space here on the Dartmouth waterfront. I know it doesn’t seem like much, a few new hangers and some plastic bins but… Before these bins and hangers, it was bags. Garbage bags to be precise lol. Black bags for dirty laundry and clear for clean.

Prior to my move I discarded near everything and the things I couldn’t separate with had to be prepped for 90 Days quarantine. I went through the hell of a bedbug infestation. Not by my own design either. Living on my own, I am no longer a prisoner of the poor decisions my cohabitants make. I live a very simple life now mostly worry free that while I am out my house will not burn down. The stove won’t be left on, the taps won’t be left running to flood the kitchen. I don’t have to fret about the absent minded bullshit that routinely threatened what few belongings I have left. Between moving back to Halifax from Toronto and the bedbug infestation I once again have been reduced to the clothes on my back. Give or take a few keepsakes.

These bins and hangers, for me are a symbol of starting over. Planning ahead, making the most of the limited space I have in a smart way. This is a step in the right direction of laying down some roots here and settling in.

2 thoughts on “creature comforts & simple things

Leave a Reply

