Motivational Tools,

Plus One.

img_20160508_202359.jpgTurns out a traditional Bucket List doesn’t work for me. I’ve had a handful of near death experiences, mostly drunken dare devil stunts or people trying to kill me. All due to my award winning personality of course lol.

Over the last couple years, bacterial infections or viral paired with severe psychosis and depression there have been moments I’ve nearly done myself in. All that and you would think I’d be chomping at the bit to get out there and have some fun.

Truth is, I am boring as fuck. Hah. I really love my job, so I work a lot. It keeps me grounded and out of trouble. But it also makes me a little boring, or Ok. A lot boring.

Other than working a lot, I have a lover. She is my world. And she likes to get shit done. Or at the very least make sure I get shit done lol. We met a long time ago it seems. Spent some time apart and still do spend time apart. It’s an over distance relationship and in a way always has been short, far and everything in between. Big story small, she puts the DO in “get shit DOne”. And I like that. She pushes me to get with the program and ya know what, sometimes I need that. A swift kick in the ass and a sweet reminder to not just talk about doing something but also doing it for reals. And so the pic you see above is a motivational tool she uses and has recommended I use. It is a coin counting jar incase you didn’t catch that. You run. And as a reward, you put coins in it equal to the distance ran.

My girl is a runner. I’m a cyclist. I wanna be a runner though. I also want to hike, and kayak. I have to admit honestly, I have a problem actually doing all those things regularly. I have a problem doing any of these things at all.

My thing. And I got this thing where I like to go big or go home. But I have turned into such a lazy blop when it comes to my physical fitness level I do a lot of just staying home. I consider my ride to work, progress. And this is a real ego crusher. There was a time that I could hop on my bike and solo ride 180 Km in a few hrs easily. Not anymore my friend.

The question now is what am I going to do about it?

  • Well, I’m gonna start by topping off my run jar for distances already ran.
  • My ass doesn’t like the morning. Solution: pack at night.
  • Tomorrow I am going to ride to work.
  • I am not going to eat garbage take out for breakfast.
  • I’m going to try and consume 355 Milliliters of water or more.
  • I am going to ride home. (Or to my managers meeting if there is one.)
  • I am not going to eat garbage take out for dinner.
  • I am going to check in with my blog, and let you know how I did.

Here’s to progress, and if anyone else out there is in depressed lazy blop mode. Feel free to get with the program and run with me. I use Strava to track all my fitness and my handle is Ross W. Look for the Ghost Riders flaming skull. That is my Strava calling card. Although I am consider a lovey rolly Panda until I get back into go mode lol.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Motivational Tools,

  1. Bravo, Ross! I myself have been putting off losing weight but have recently been motivated to give myself that extra push to achieve my weight goals just to be and stay healthier. Thank you for this beautifully timed post! Running with you in spirit.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

